Discovering the countryside in the Dominican Republic

I live this winter in the Dominican Republic, an exceptional country, I have been wishing it for a long time to see…
It is not easy here to go on a roundtrip /drive on my own, due to the road conditions, car conditions etc. That is why I go on excursions, of which I can show you some 😊
This tour was about the Dominican country life and the Chavon river: You can get to know the life of the local people, visit a school, a farmhouse, a village built as a museum and go on a drive by ship on the River Chavon.

First we went to see a traditional market, where mostly the locals go for groceries, meat (I don’t want to know where the meat comes from on my table here…) and fruits.

Since we were in Higüey we stopped at its church, at the Basilica of La Altagracia. The patron saint of this city is the Virgin of La Altagracia, there is a painting of her in the church that was brought here by Spanish missionaries. The church looks pretty modern, it was built in 1970.

It was so sweet to visit a local school and see how they study, what the little kids do. They were so happy to see us, certainly the teachers weren’t that delighted becasue we interrupted the session…
San Pedro & Chavon 052

If you visit a local mansion like we did you can see typical Dominican products like cacao (I didn’t know the cocoa fruit looks like this), coffee, sugarcane. It is worth to try the Mama Juana (a national drink with rum, red wine, honey and herbs – good for the health). Our guide even found under the stones some scorpios … Not mentioning the termites.  

Not only in Cuba is the cigar an important export item, rather here too. We could visit a cigar factory and see how the cigars are made.

I didn’t find Chavon village anything special, it is a created artist village, when we were there it was mostly empty. Some say mostly in the mornings are there sellers because the tourists from the cruise ships come at that time. Anyway the amphitheatre is an important concert venue, it was nice to see it and the view from above over the River Chavon is also amazing.

Our last event during this tour was when we got on a ship and went for a cruise ride on the river. As far as I know the ’Apocalypse now’ movie’s certain parts were recorded here… We saw the abundance of the jungle from the ship, the palms trees and the sunset was really beautiful there.

I find this country very interesting and exciting and what else can I wish than getting to know a bit how the Dominicans live.


More about my Winter in the Dominican Republic:



Vicky

I’m glad you’re here! I hope you liked and interested in this post. If so, I will be very pleased when you click ‘Like’ and share the entry with friends! This is important to me because it shows that it is worth to write further. Thank you 🙂

You can follow me and like my Facebook page here: Memories of a Travel Addict Chick

You can see my instagram Photos here: @victoria_lengei

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑