By boat along the Mekong Delta in Vietnam

Vietnam is one of my favourite South-East Asian countries, in 4 days I could see some nice sights there like I wrote in a previous post about the City Tour in Saigon

The Mekong Delta is in the nearby of Saigon, where I stayed and I wanted to go on an excursion to the River Delta very much. 
Day 2_27

Day 2_18

Day 2_20

Day 1_13

I went on not only one rather on 2 different excursions. Both were amazing experience and both were well organized however I found the second one more exciting maybe because of the program, maybe because of the scenery.
JUst to know what I am writing about, the Mekong River is the world’s 12th-longest river, 4,350 km long. It flows through 6 countries: China, Myanmar, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam.

Mekong Delta Tour to Cai Be & Vinh Long

This tour was organized by Delta tour, it didn’t  amaze me as much as the next day’s Mekong tour, but it was also a nice one. We left at around 8.00 from the office, we went to the Cai Be floating market first. On the way there we could see paddy fields,
Day 1_01our bus broke down, the tyre had to be changed :).
Day 1_02

We got on the boat and started to discover the Mekong Delta.
Day 1_03

Day 1_04

Day 1_05

Day 1_06

We stopped at a local coconut candy producing factory
Day 1_08and then lunch we had in an orchard, where we could see the daily life of the locals.

It was also possible to ride on bicycles to the next village (I skipped it, the bikes were in such bad conditions I just would have been annoyed if I had tried it).
Day 1_12

Day 1_14

Day 1_15

Day 1_16

We arrived at the Vinh Long market, in which we „run through” (we didn’t have time or I don’t know why, anyway we hardly saw anything of it). And the day ended late coming back to Saigon.

A second excursion to the Mekong Delta – My Tho & Ben Tre
As I wrote there was another excursion I went on and I think it was much more interesting. It was organized by TNK tours, also for 20 euros (~ 15$). It began at 8.00 from the office by bus (we had no problem this time with the bus). First we stopped at a church with a big buddha statue.Day 2_01

Day 2_02

Day 2_04

Day 2_05

Day 2_03After arriving in My Tho we had a boat ride on the Mekong river.
Day 2_06

Day 2_09We continued the trip to Ben Tre to the restaurant where we had lunch,

another coconut candy production came again, 
Day 2_16

Day 2_12

Day 2_13

Day 2_14 and we met some nice little guys 🙂
Day 2_17

Day 2_07

Day 2_08

Have you tried to hold in your hands so many bees? 
Day 2_15

After that we went into the middle of the jungle by paddle boat
Day 2_26

Day 2_25

Day 2_22

Day 2_21

Day 2_11

Day 2_10where we had a concert (!), traditional Vietnamese music. How surreal…
Day 2_24

Day 2_32

Day 2_31

Day 2_30

Day 2_19Arriving after sundown at Saigon with full of beautiful impressions of the Mekong Delta.
Both of these programs were amazing. What do you think about them based on the pictures?



Vicky

I’m glad you’re here! I hope you liked and interested in this post. If so, I will be very pleased when you click ‘Like’ and share the entry with friends! This is important to me because it shows that it is worth to write further. Thank you 🙂

You can follow me and like my Facebook page here: Memories of a Travel Addict Chick

You can see my instagram Photos here: @victoria_lengei

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑