Not Barefoot in the Park

I just wanted to go for a walk in the Park, emphasising: not barefoot :). If you are a big movie fan like me from the title you know which park I am talking about: Yes, the Central Park (and Robert Redford…).
IMG_1224

IMG_1218My hotel was next to it so I saw from my room through the window that the sun was shining. I opened the window and it was pretty ok to go out in a hoodie and in long sweat-pants. Hmmm, in November maybe it wasn’t the best idea of my life.
IMG_1219

Anyway, yes, the Central Park is huge 4 km x 800 m and yes, there are a lot of things to see there. Of course I didn’t see everything, of course I didn’t become an expert of the park, of course I can’t give you here advice of how to discover it. Maybe only one thing, download also a map of the park in your telephone like I did, it can help a lot…
IMG_1227

I will not copy paste information about the Central Park, please check the wikipedia. Here my pictures speak…

Strawberry Fields is where John Lennon was shot, there is written ‘Imagine” after Lennon’s famous song.
IMG_1226

IMG_1229

The Bethesda Fountain and Terrace (You could see it in many movies): the fountain is also called Angel of Waters
IMG_1223

IMG_1215

IMG_1216

Conservatory Water
IMG_1222

 The Bow Bridge is an iron cast bridge completed in 1862
IMG_1225

Who doesn’t know Andersen and his stories from his/her childhood? He has a statue here, which is popular among children not because they can climb on it but because Saturday mornings in the Summer there are storytelling hours. Lovely 🙂
IMG_1221

The Jaqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir is Central Park’s main attraction
IMG_1228

I was lost (as usual, I am lost everywhere) and couldn’t find the way back to my hotel. I know, I just should have gone backwards (thanks for the advice), but I wanted to see other parts of the park while visiting so I went to the wrong direction. My ears, hands and nose were frozen, then I found the way out and I walked from the other end backwards towards my hotel. Nah, not such an interesting story, but it is a photo blog, so why not posting my pictures…

Vicky

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

